Controversial DRS Calls in West Indies vs Australia Test

https://www.profitablecpmrate.com/s4wynci74?key=f3321622cc023173449e145c2ac0fa08

From fine UltraEdge spikes to disputed low catches, the first Test between West Indies and Australia in Barbados has seen a string of third umpire controversies.

Here’s a breakdown of the key DRS flashpoints causing frustration:

Roston Chase – Day 2, First Over

  • Decision: Not out (TV umpire Adrian Holdstock ruled ball hit bat, not pad).
  • Controversy: A small murmur appeared on UltraEdge before the ball reached the bat, suggesting possible pad contact, but umpire deemed it an inside edge.
  • Impact: Chase survived; went on to score 44 before being given out later.

Roston Chase – Later Dismissal (LBW)

  • Decision: Out (on-field umpire said out; third umpire upheld it).
  • Controversy: Slight spike appeared on RTS a frame before the ball reached the bat. Chase insisted he hit it. TV umpire Holdstock adjudged the ball was too far from the bat.
  • Impact: Chase was dismissed despite seeming evidence of bat contact.

Cameron Green – LBW Appeal

  • Decision: Not out (umpire said not out; third umpire agreed).
  • Controversy: A tiny spike on UltraEdge as the bat got caught in the pad flap. Ball-tracking (not used since not out) later showed three reds — meaning would have been out if no bat was involved.
  • Impact: Green survived a very close call that, on later evidence, would have been out.

Shai Hope – Caught Behind

  • Decision: Out (TV umpire Holdstock ruled clean catch by Alex Carey).
  • Controversy: Ball was very close to the ground as Carey completed the one-handed dive. Critics say it resembled Mitchell Starc’s grounded catch vs Duckett in 2023 Ashes that was not given.
  • Impact: Hope was dismissed on a low-percentage call.

Travis Head – Edge Not Carried

  • Decision: Not out (review said not enough evidence that under-edge carried to keeper Shai Hope).
  • Controversy: West Indies believed it carried. Australians (including Starc) thought it was out.
  • Impact: Head survived; was not dismissed.

Leave a Comment